top of page

My First Semester in SIA


When I first started SIA I didn’t want to constantly come to meetings and stay late after school, but I soon changed my mind and started enjoying it a lot. SIA was a place for me to make friends and have fun talking and discussing things with them. I’ve made a lot of friends from being in SIA and now I’ve been able to talk to more people and make more friends outside of SIA. Going on trips with them made it even more enjoyable, like when I went to Forest Heights Elementary School for “Read Across America”.

On that day I got to spend time with them and read Dr. Seuss books to the children. The children seemed to enjoy seeing us come to their school that day. We, as high schoolers, enjoyed the time we had with the kids and wanted to read more. My favorite class to read to was the first-graders. They seemed to love seeing us out of all the other elementary grades and they paid the most attention. I’ve gotten to instill some high school level algebra into their brains. With me being so tall the kids looked up to me both physically and emotionally. Reading to them has made me feel like I’m capable of teaching and making a difference in the lives of the generations following me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page