top of page

Dressember

December 1st marked an interesting new phenomenon that has gained popularity with males and females alike. This movement is called Dressember and, as the name states, is when you "dress up" (females wear dresses, males wear ties) for the entire month. The cause of this movement is what brought attention to the students at Richland One Middle College.

"I am always on the lookout for ethical brands and non-profits on the internet, when I saw a blog about Dressember on another nonprofits page (https://starfishproject.com/category/friends-of-starfish/page/3/)." Says Ashley Ramirez, "I loved the idea that something so simple as wearing a dress could inspire so many people to learn more about the impact human trafficking has on all of us. When I visited Dressember's page (dressember.org) I knew it was the perfect organization to represent!"

Another member of Team VIP also shared his experience with the organization. Marcus Whitfield states that, "I learned that human trafficking is a bigger threat then I thought. Like a lot more people are in that system that I thought ya know. The whole Super Bowl thing [referring to the Super Bowl being the largest human trafficking event] was surprising to me. I also learned that I could basically do anything to make a difference."

We at Richland One Middle College Team VIP are incredibly grateful for all the hard work our students put in to raise over $55 in one week, though our penny drive. We are excited to have worked with Dressember this year and will continue our journey to improve our community one step at a time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page